If you want to close your account on USPS, the website of the United States Postal Service, you’ll see in this manual that you can only do that by contacting the customer support team.
Actually there are 2 options to close an account:
- Telephone: Call their Customer Care Center at 1-800-ASK-USPS (800-275-8777)
- Email: Go to https://prd2faq.usps.com/faq/iq/usps/request.do?forward=emailUs and create a support ticket
We’ll continue this article, using the second method. I’ll show you some pictures below on how I managed to permanently remove my profile using a desktop computer:
1 Go to https://prd2faq.usps.com/faq/iq/usps/request.do?forward=emailUs
2 Select USP.com > My online account > Other > Continue
3 Fill in your username and the removal request in the Additional information field
A removal request in the additional information field can look like this:
Dear USPS support team,
I would like to close my USPS account because (e.g. I’ve not been using it anymore lately). Can you please delete it for me?
4 Fill in your personal details
5 Review the message and submit it
You’ll receive very shortly (they answered me within 5 minutes!) an answer from the USPS customer support team. They told me that they can deactivate and close the account, but to be able to do so, they might ask you some personal questions to verify your identity.
Once you’ve answered these correctly, they’ll be able to remove your account. Mission accomplished!
*Source (& thanks to): usps.com
3 thoughts on “How to delete my USPS account?”
Thanks, very much, Johan. Your visuals guided me through deactivation of USPS Informed Delivery and, I do believe, cancellation of my account. (Waiting for verification of that, but I certainly followed their steps and answered the security questions). I look forward to using your visual guides in the future. Can I “subscribe” or follow your website/blog?
A USPS.com Online Can NEVER be deleted. It will only be deactivated. Everything else will remain in the system and you will not be allowed to use the same Username or Email again.
It’s like giving access to information that gets dumped into a Database but will NEVER be DELETED.
Just like how Facebook owns anything you Upload or even anything that gets ‘whiffed’ by Typing into a box even if it is not posted (True Story — all you actions across the Site are constantly tracked — including things you don’t do such as type but decide against posting after all).
You are not able to delete your account, only to disable it. Of course, then someone can reenable it.